去中心化网络

decentralization

一个去中心化网络由点组成,这些点是互相独立运行的。传输信息是分散在服务器网络中,而不是由一个主要来源驱动。

这意味着Stellar网络并不依赖于任何单一实体,其理念是让尽可能多的独立服务器参与到Stellar网络中,因此即使一些服务器发生故障,网络仍能顺利运行。


账本

ledger

Stellar网络和传统账本类似,记录了网络上每个单独账户的所有余额和交易信息。完整的全球Stellar账本会托管到每个运行Stellar软件的服务器上,一个实体可以运行一个Stellar网络。

这些服务器来自一个去中心化Stellar网络,可以让账本尽可能广泛的进行分布,然后这些服务器通过一种叫作共识的机制来同步和验证账本。


共识

consensus

Stellar服务器之间会彼此沟通和同步,以确保交易是有效的,同时可以成功的应用到全球账本上。

例如,如果你想把五美元发送给你网络上的朋友,那么可信任服务器之间就会开始就这五美元付款的有效性达成共识。必须让多数服务器同意你在网络上实际拥有五美元,才能将交易标记为有效。

在Stellar网络上达成共识的整个过程大约会每2-5秒发生一次。

David Mazières教授在他的《Stellar共识协议》 (SCP)中描述了共识的技术过程。你还可以查看 解释SCP的其他资源


锚点、信任和信用

anchor

锚点只是人们信任的实体,用于持有其存款并根据这些存款把信用积分发送到Stellar网络中。它们充当的是不同货币和Stellar网络之间的桥梁。Stellar网络上的所有货币交易(除了lumens的内置数字货币)都以锚点发行的信用积分形式发生。

锚点会做两件简单的事情:

  1. 他们会吸取你的存款,并将Stellar账本上的相应信用积发送到你的账户地址中。
  2. 你可以通过带来他们发行的信用积分来提款。

你必须相信这个锚点会兑现你发起的存款和提款。

锚点现在存在于前Stellar世界中。例如,使用Paypal的话,你要从银行账户存款。Paypal然后会把信用积分发送到你Paypal账户中。现在你可以把Paypal信用积分发送给任何信任Paypal的人(任何有Paypal账户的人)。收到你Paypal信用积分的人可以通过Paypal取出,转换为真实的货币然后存入银行。

锚点在Stellar中执行相同的功能,不同的是,所有的“Paypals”以及其他锚点都在同一个网络上运行,因此他们现在可以相互交易——这可以让系统变得更强大。人们现在可以轻松在彼此之间发送以及交换不同的锚点信用积分。


分布式交换

distributed-exchange

Stellar账本可以存储人们购买或出售货币的报价。报价是公开以预订的价格交换另一种信用类型的承诺。账本成为全球市场的报价。

所有这些报价就形成了订单簿,每一对货币-发行人都有一个订单簿。所以如果你想把维珍银行的欧元兑换成比特币交易平台bitstamp的比特币,你可以查看账本中的特定订单簿,就可以了解大家的购买和出售情况。

这不仅可以让人们以外汇的方式交易货币,同时可以在交易时无缝兑换货币。


多币种交易

multicurrency

Stellar可以让你通过内置分布式交易所将你持有的所有货币用不同的货币类型发送给其他任何人,人们可以通过他们添加的锚点接收任何货币。

例如,Amy想用她的美元余额给Bob发送欧元,Stellar会自动向将美元兑换为欧元的分布式交易所提交报价,然后忘了会为交易找到最佳汇率。

以下是交易可能发生的几种方式:

通过报价进行转换

Stellar会发现美元/欧元交易所内部的人想要购买欧元兑换美元的报价,然后会自动进行双方之间的交易。

把lumens作为中介货币

Stellar在网络上寻找要求用美元换取lumens(内置—纯数字—货币)的报价,同时还会寻找一个要求用lumens换取欧元的报价。Stellar网络会进行这些交换,并且会给Bob发送相应的欧元信用积分。

转换链

如果在交易报价之间没有明确的关系,那么Stellar会尝试从让欧元兑换美元的转换链网络中找到报价,也可以是欧元兑换澳元,澳元兑换比特币,比特币兑换XLM,XLM兑换美元。

Decentralized network

decentralization

A decentralized network consists of peers that can run independently of each other. The power to transmit information is distributed among a network of servers, instead of being driven from one primary source.

This means that the Stellar network does not depend on any single entity. The idea is to have as many independent servers participate in the Stellar network as possible, so that the network will still run successfully even if some servers fail.


Ledger

ledger

Like a traditional ledger, the Stellar ledger records a list of all the balances and transactions belonging to every single account on the network. A complete copy of the global Stellar ledger is hosted on each server that runs the Stellar software. Any entity can run a Stellar server.

These servers form a decentralized Stellar network, allowing the ledger to be distributed as widely as possible. The servers sync and validate the ledger by a mechanism known as consensus.


Consensus

consensus

The Stellar servers communicate and sync with each other to ensure that transactions are valid and get applied successfully to the global ledger.

For example, if you want to send $5 to a friend on the network, a list of trusted servers will begin a process to agree on the validity of your $5 payment to your friend. The majority of these servers will have to agree that you do in fact own $5 worth of credit on the network before they will mark the transaction as valid.

This entire process of coming to consensus on the Stellar network occurs approximately every 2-5 seconds.

Prof. David Mazières describes the technical process of consensus in his white paper, The Stellar Consensus Protocol (SCP). You can also explore other resources explaining SCP.


Anchors, trust, and credit

anchor

Anchors are simply entities that people trust to hold their deposits and issue credits into the Stellar network for those deposits. They act as a bridge between different currencies and the Stellar network. All money transactions in the Stellar network (except the native digital currency of lumens) occur in the form of credit issued by anchors.

Anchors do two simple things:

  1. They take your deposit and issue the corresponding credit to your account address on the Stellar ledger.
  2. You can make a withdrawal by bringing them credit they issued.

You have to trust the anchor to honor your deposits and withdrawals of credit it has issued.

Anchors exist in the pre-stellar world now. For example, to use Paypal, you deposit money in from your bank account. Paypal then gives you credit in your Paypal account. You can now send that Paypal credit to anyone that trusts Paypal (anyone with a Paypal account). Someone that received your Paypal credit can convert it to real money using Paypal by withdrawing it to the bank.

Anchors perform the same function in Stellar. The difference is, all the “Paypals” and other anchors are operating on the same network so they can all transact with each other now – this makes the system way more powerful. People can now easily send and exchange all these different anchor credits with each other.


Distributed Exchange

distributed-exchange

The Stellar ledger is able to store offers that people have made to buy or sell currencies. Offers are public commitments to exchange one type of credit for another at a pre-determined rate. The ledger becomes a global marketplace for offers.

All these offers form what is called an orderbook. There is an orderbook for each currency/issuer pair. So if you are wanting to exchange Virgin Bank/EUR for bitstamp/BTC you look at that particular order book in the ledger to see what people are buying and selling it for.

This allows people to not only buy and sell currencies in a foreign exchange like manner but also to convert currencies seamlessly during transactions.


Multi-currency transactions

multicurrency

Stellar allows you to send any currency you hold to anyone else in a different currency through the built-in distributed exchange. People can receive any currency through an anchor they added.

For example, Amy wants to send Bob euros, using her USD balance. Stellar automatically submits an offer to the distributed exchange selling USD for EUR. The network finds the best exchange rate for the transaction.

Here’s a few possible ways the transaction can happen:

Conversion through an offer

Stellar finds an offer on the internal USD/EUR exchange for someone wanting to buy EUR for USD and automatically makes the exchange between the two parties.

Using lumens as an intermediary currency

Stellar looks for offers on the network asking for USD in exchange for lumens (the native — purely digital — currency). It simultaneously looks for an offer asking for lumens in exchange for euros. The network makes those exchanges and sends Bob the resulting euro credit.

Chain of conversions

If there are no explicit relationship between offers to buy and sell, Stellar tries to find offers from the network that will lead a chain of conversions from EUR to USD. For example, EUR to AUD, AUD to BTC, BTC to XLM, XLM to USD.